Cell Cycle

The cell cycle is a series of events that cells go through as they grow and divide. There are two types: Mitosis = division of somatic cells and Meiosis division of gamete cells (egg and sperm)

In cells without a nucleus (prokaryotic such as bacteria), the cell cycle process is called binary fission.

Mitosis and cytokinesis are cell division that results in two identical daughter cells each having the same number and kind of chromosomes. It’s a type of cloning. It happens in somatic cells in order to replace old and worn out cells.





Meiosis a type of cell division that gametes go through that results in four daughter cells each with half the number of chromosomes of the parent cell.

In eukaryotes, the cell cycle can be divided in three stages: Interphase—made up of the G1 phase when the cell grows and functions as a cell, the S phase where the DNA replicates itself, and the G2 phase when the cell prepares for division. Interphase is followed by the mitotic (M) phase, during which the cell undergoes a series of events that prepares it to split into two new daughter cells and, cytokinesis, where the new cell is completely divided.

cell cycle

Cell Cycle

mitosis vs meiosis

meiosis handout